Jodie Foster is attached to direct a drama based at the actual story of ways Leonardo DaVinci’s iconic painting the Mona Lisa was stolen in 1911, an individual with knowledge of the undertaking tells TheWrap.

Bill Wheeler is writing a draft of the screenplay for Foster to direct based at the book “The Day They Stole the Mona Lisa” by way of Seymour Reit. The theft, perpetrated by way of Vincenzo Peruggia in 1911, helped elevate the painting to legendary repute.

The film is in the vein of “The Thomas Crown Affair” and “The Sting” and will blend truth and fiction, focusing specially on the human beings behind the heist.

As defined in NPR, the theft happened inside the Louvre in 1911, where three Italian handymen hid out in a deliver closet and controlled to swipe the 200 kilos of the painting, protective glass and frame off the wall and get it onto a French subway educate out of the city.

The painting changed into missing for a complete 28 hours before every person noticed it become gone, and while the news broke, the portray became well-known overnight. Though DaVinci painted the Mona Lisa within the 16th century, French art critics didn’t apprehend it as a masterpiece till the late 19th century, and the robbery helped elevate its fame even further.